The Beacon Awards are designed to honor excellence in Permian Basin nonprofit organizations by recognizing volunteers and staff of the local nonprofit sector. In addition to the award, the nominating organization will receive $1,000.

The Judge Pat Baskin Family and W.D. Noël Volunteer of the Year Awards are intended to increase awareness of the importance of volunteering in our community. The awards recognize volunteers who give assistance to the community and receive no remuneration for their efforts. The Judge Pat Baskin Family Volunteer of the Year Award is designed to acknowledge volunteers who are residents of Midland County and the W.D. Noël Volunteer of the Year Award acknowledges Ector County residents. Both awards recognize an adult and youth volunteer in each community.

2022 Beacon Award Recipients

Excellence in Governing Board Leadership (Board Member)
Eric Baker, The West Texas Jazz Society

Excellence in Organizational Leadership (CEO or Executive Director)
David Diaz, Midland Community Development Corporation

Program Excellence
Odessa Public Art, Odessa Arts

Excellence in Communication
Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Permian Basin

Excellence in Collaboration
We Are The World Camp; Bynum School, Midland Children's Rehabilitation Center, Spectrum of Solutions, We Are The World Camp

Judge Pat Baskin Family Volunteer of the Year Award
Shane Bell, Adult
Cody Munoz, Youth

W.D. Noël Volunteer of the Year Award
Debbie McReynolds, Adult

Outstanding Generations Graduate
Phillip K. Knight

2022 Beacon Award Luncheon

Thursday, September 22, 2022
Petroleum Club of Midland
11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

For Beacon information please contact
Ericka Chavez

Sponsor Level